Apple Music’s Africa Now Radio With LootLove This Sunday With Amanda Black

This Week’s Episode Features a Conversation With Amanda Black, a South African Women’s Day Special, Africa Rising and LootLove’s Favourite Track of the Week!

Tune in to Africa Now Radio With LootLove This Sunday, August 8th at 4 pm EAT, 2 pm Lagos/London / 3pm Johannesburg/Paris / 6am LA / 9 am NYC on Apple Music 1.

Amanda Black on being told to stick to the music

People are like, “Oh, you’re a public figure. You are a celebrity. You should only worry about music.” People are telling me just focus on music. I’m like, “Do you understand my music is political? My music is to make people feel. My music is to make people see themselves. My music is for self-awareness. That is what I do.” Then it’s not any different when I’m not singing it and I’m saying it with my words. I feel that is that disconnect that people are not putting together in that understanding that my music is about the things that I speak out on.

Amanda Black on her conflicting feelings towards Women’s Day in South Africa

I’m like, “I don’t know.” I’m not excited about Women’s Day. I want to be excited. Then you try and sort of like, “Okay, fine.” Yes, this is happening, but we need to still try and empower and celebrate ourselves because we should never stop doing that. We don’t need one day to do that. But at the same time, I’m like, “Yo, what are we celebrating when there’s so much injustice towards women?”

Amanda Black on how her breakup inspired the album MNYAMA

When lockdown hit, a week before we were told we were locking down, I literally broke up with my ex. So I was going through a breakup. And then the world was ending. I was like, “Listen, I don’t know what’s going on.” So I kind of went through that crazy “I don’t know what to do stage,” and those moments of despair and uncertainty gave birth to my conversations in this album.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Baskerville 2 by Anders Noren.

Up ↑